Saturday, February 13


2010 is about to become another great year for music lovers. we've seen some outstanding releases in january and early february.... and there will be many more. one of them will be broken bells; the collaboration of danger mouse and james mercer (singer of the shins). their selftitled debut album will be released on march 5 through sony bmg.
i've always been a fan of the shins and one of the main reasons why i love them is james mercer's warm and smooth voice. honestly, i can't say much about danger mouse, since i never really listened to him. all i know is, that he is a good producer. well... a good producer and james mercer... what could go wrong? nothing... really absolutely nothing. the 10 songs on the album are perfect pop-songs. yes, to me it's pop music. i can hear people yelling "hell, danger mouse is no pop", or "the shins is indie"..... yes yes maybe, but we're not talking about the shins nor are we talking about danger mouse himself. it's all about broken bells and they are pop. okay.... they are intelligent pop. they are popstars with halos. i do not want to say "they sound like....." because that wouldn't be fair, but.... yes but, at some parts they remind me of air.... at least the instrumentaion. i also don't wanna highlight a single song, because the album works better en bloc. welll, okay wait... there's this one song "the mall and misery" which is absolutely superb. and.... if anyone says "god this sounds like mgmt", i'm gonna come over and smash a halo on your face!

similar artists
: local natives, yeasayer, bear in heaven, the shins, air

upcoming album: broken bells - broken bells (sony - 05.03.2010)

01. the high road
02. vaporize
03. your head is on fire
04. the ghost inside
05. sailing to nowhere
06. trap doors
07. citizen
08. october
09. mongrel heart
10. the mall and misery

The High Road

Broken Bells | MySpace Musikvideos


  1. outstandig! album of the year. period!

    Who You Gonna Call
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208 323 8080

    Hi Neon,

    On behalf of Columbia Records, Monotone and Broken Bells, we would kindly ask you not to post copies of "Broken Bells" / the eponymous album on your site (or any non-preview tracks from Broken Bells' new album - street date 9th March and 'Host Listed' by Billboard for 2010).

    We do appreciate that you are fans of / are promoting Broken Bells, but the label, management and artists would greatly appreciate your co-operation in removing your links to the pirate files in question.

    Thank you for respecting the artists' wishes and, if you / your readers want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks, then full length versions of "The High Road" and "Vaporize" are available for fans and bloggers to link to / post / host etc at ... .. For further details of the new album, special pre-orders, on-line promotions, videos and 2010 shows, check-out the official site, as well as the artists' MySpace at and YouTube channel at ... .. keep an eye on these official sources for details of further news, preview material and on-line promotions and check-out the official video for "The High Road" - out now.

    With Thanks & Regards,